About the Author: Suzanne Collins

Suzanne Collins

Starting out as screenwriter for children’s television shows, Suzanne Collins worked on several productions from the well-known TV-channel Nickelodeon, before ultimately writing her first novel: “Gregor the Overlander”.

The Underland Chronicles

This novel formed the first part to a series later named “The Underland Chronicles”, a storyline inspired by the well known novel “Alice in Wonderland”, by Lewis Carroll.

Featuring a boy name Gregor, the series illustrate his adventures in the fictional, hidden world situated under New York City filled with monstrous creatures that symbolize topics such as warfare, mythology, genocide and civil conflict.

All of the Underland Chronicles books are available on Audiobooks.com. And if you’re a new member there, you’ll get your first audiobook completely for free!

The Hunger Games

Inspired by the ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur and the horrors of the Second World War, “The Hunger Games” trilogy merges history with themes of violence, hypocrisy, power and genocide. With almost direct reference to the dictatorship regime of the Nazi’s and the poverty, hopelessness and disparate class divisions associated with such a social structure, Collin’s manages to present love as being the solution to all inequalities and rivalries.

These audiobooks are available for a free download at Audiobooks.com as well. Click here for an overview of the trilogy.

For all ages

Although the books in “The Underland Chronicles” and “The Hunger Games” probe complex moral issues and force the reader to take a stance one way or the other, the main audience has turned out to be children and adults of all ages. With her father serving in the Air Force, Collins heard first-hand accounts about the impacts of war and ensuing poverty among a population under a dictatorial regime. She also hold two degrees from two different universities: a major in Theater Arts and a double major in Theater and Telecommunications.

Inspired by the idea that children need to be educated and aware of such matters from an early age to prevent similar repetitions of historic atrocities, a long line of entertained and highly readable novels was born.

Download for free at Audiobooks.com

At Audiobooks.com, you can check out all the other books in the Underland series: Gregor the Overlander, Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane, Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods, Gregor and the Marks of Secret, and Gregor and the Code of Claw. Or if you are interested in the sequels to the Hunger Games, you can check out: “Catching Fire” and “Mockingjay”.

From these titles and over 60,000 more, you can download one completely for free at Audiobooks.com. To start your free download, simply open an account and choose your free title.

Comments are closed.